My Blue Heaven and Charlotte’s Baskets

I am starting on a new project.  It is always so easy to start on a new project but sooo.. difficult to finish it off.  Sigh.  I have a number of work-in-progress that are still work in progress.  Anyway,  this new project, Charlotte’s Baskets, is taken from Bonnie Hunter’s Book – String Fling: Scrappy, Happy and Loving It.  I have pieced a quilt pattern by Bonnie Hunter before, called My Blue Heaven. My Blue Heaven pattern can be obtained from Bonnie’s website,  I did not sew it up like the normal quilt i.e. a quilt top, a batting followed by a backing fabric.  Instead I did it up more like a blanket.  I placed the right sides of the quilt top and the backing fabric together, sewed around the edge, leave an opening of about 6-10 inches, then turn the whole thing right side out.  It was completed a couple of months back and it is now with my daughter in boarding school. P_20150103_193338[1] Charlotte’s Baskets is going to my eldest daughter who will be going into the university in August this year.  This time round, I hope to be able to quilt it instead of making it into a blanket.  I will keep you updated as to how I am going to quilt it.  But first, let me give you a peek at the first block that I have constructed last night. P_20150510_231105[1]

7 thoughts on “My Blue Heaven and Charlotte’s Baskets

  1. Pingback: The Quirks of Long Arm Quilting | The Bias Edge

  2. Pingback: Some quick sewing | The Bias Edge

  3. Pingback: 2016 Finish-A-long Q2 Goals | The Bias Edge

  4. Pingback: Storm at Sea Tutorial and A Q2 FAL Finish | The Bias Edge

Leave a Reply

