The Quirks of Long Arm Quilting

After quilting my first baby quilt on the long arm, I felt that the LA is at a height that is too low for me.  The quilting table is currently at its lowest level and I am about 1.7m tall (slightly less than that).  I felt that I had to bend down a bit to quilt.  As usual, I turned to the gurus on youtube and the internet for guidance on table height.  I found a 2012 Handiquilter webinar and it said to have 3 inches between your right-angled elbows and the belly bar.  This is the position that I had when I first set up my LA machine. Then I found Jamie Wallen’s video tutorial on Height of LA machine. He recommended that the table height is where you can see about 4 – 6 inches behind the hopping foot when you are quilting.  So I decided to lift my table higher.  With my Chief Engineer’s and second Assistant Engineer’s (my son) help, I managed to lift the table up by 3 inches.  I was ready to quilt my next quilt when I discovered that my idler bar is touching my machine bed at the centre of the bar.  According to Chief Engineer, it is because the bar sags in the middle.  What can I do now to remedy the situation?  I emailed Nate Arnesan, Director of Global Business Development and whatsapp Aimee of Pins n Needles Long arm quilting Singapore.   Aimee works with Nate to bring in my HQ Avante.  Both of them are helping me solve the problem.  Hopefully we can find a solution soon.  I have not quilted on my Avante for a couple of days now.  Instead I have gone back to Charlotte’s Baskets.  You can read about it in this post and how to string piece Charlotte’s Baskets in this post.  My eldest daughter, the ‘Assistant Engineer’, who helped set up my Avante, has just checked into the university hostel.  She will be starting her course in the university in August and the quilt (Charlotte’s Baskets) that I was supposed to gift  to her is still in work-in-progress stage. 😦

On another note, I am happy to announce that although our 2015 New Quilt Bloggers Blog Hop has ended, we are continuing with the group camaraderie with another blog hop, the 2015 Fabri-Quilt New Block Blog Hop.  See the Fabri-Quilt Blog Hop button on the sidebar when you scroll down.

This Blog Hop will run from 31 August to 3 September.  During this period, each of the participant of this Blog Hop will post a tutorial on a block that she designs using fabric by Fabri-Quilt.  Yours truly is excited to be participating in this Blog Hop. 🙂

This Blog Hop is made possible by our wonderful and energetic hosts

Cheryl @ Meadow Mist Designs,

Stephanie @ Late Night Quilter,

Yvonne @ Quilting Jetgirl and

Terri Ann @ Childlike Fascination

who work hard coordinating and scheduling all who are interested to participate.

Leave a Reply

