New Fabric

The funny thing is there is now no more sagging in my idler bar.  Yes, there was slight sagging in the middle of my 12-feet idler bar.  That was what Aimee concluded when she came to check my long arm setup.  When a backing fabric is pinned onto the take-up bar, it has to go under the idler bar and the tension from loading the backing fabric lifts the idler bar from the machine bed.  This is the remedy she recommended for my situation.  My Chief Engineer also recommended this before I got Aimee to come to my house.  However, last night, when I was about to load a practice sandwich, I realised the idler bar was no longer sagging.  What happened?  According to my Chief Engineer, the sagging and non-sagging could be due to expansion and contraction of the frame bars.  Anyway, I was glad that Aimee came as she shared some tips to get correct stitch tension.   Thank you Aimee. 🙂

I went shopping for fabric again.  I like to shop at Sin Mui Heng.  This is one of the bigger fabric shops in Singapore.  They have a few outlets.  The shopping experience was made more pleasant as I got to enjoy a 30% discount.  Sin Mui Heng is having a SG50 sale this week!  We, Singaporeans, are celebrating 50 years of independence this year.  Our National Day (same as Independence Day in the US) falls on 9 August.  To celebrate this momentous occasion, there are lots of events and sales taking place this month.

I am participating in the Fabri-Quilt New Block Blog Hop,  This Blog Hop originates in the US.  Fabri-Quilt is from the US and the hosts

Cheryl @ Meadow Mist Designs,

Stephanie @ Late Night Quilter,

Yvonne @ Quilting Jetgirl and

Terri Ann @ Childlike Fascination

for this Blog Hop are also from the US.   As a participant, I have to design a 12 1/2″ x 12 1/2″ using Fabri-Quilt fabrics.  However, as I am not in the US, by the time the Fabri-Quilt fabric reaches me, I may not have enough time to sew out my block and send it back to the hosts for them to put all the blocks together into quilts.

To solve this problem,  Cheryl @ Meadow Mist Designs and Yvonne @ Quilting Jetgirl suggested that I write out my tutorial on how to sew the block, sew out the block using fabric from my stash, then send these instructions and photos of the tutorial process to them and they will sew my block out by following my tutorial using the fabric from Fabri-Quilt.  When they are done, they will send photos of the finished block as well as the block in various stages of work-in-progress back to me for me to post in my blog when I released the block design.  There is no need for the fabric to make a trip around the world. What a great idea!  This solves the problem of time as well as shipping costs.

When I looked into my stash, I realised that I do not have fabrics of similar colours to those of Fabri-Quilt.  Hence, my shopping trip to Sin Mui Heng. 🙂

P_20150801_081258_HDR[1]

The colours of the fabric I purchased are not exactly like those of Fabri-Quilt but they are the closest I could get.  Anyway, when it is time for me to release the block design you will see photos of the block in Fabri-Quilt fabric, thanks to Cheryl and Yvonne. 🙂

Leave a Reply

