1/4 inch seam marker by Fons and Porter

I bought the 1/4″ seam marker by Fons and Porter in a recent purchase from Amazon.  I have read a number of reviews on it and I really wanted to give it a try as I have been busy sewing half-square triangles (HSTs).

P_20150809_215012[1]

I need at least 252 HSTs for Charlotte’s Baskets.  You can read about Charlotte’s Baskets here.  The HSTs for Charlotte’s Baskets are scrappy and they measured 2″ x 2″ before sewing to form the block.  This is great as I am able to use up my small pieces of scraps.  I used to sew the HSTs by cutting squares measuring 2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″.  Placing 2 squares together, right sides facing, I draw a diagonal line from the top right-hand corner of the top square to the bottom right-hand corner with a pencil.

P_20150807_204636[1]

Then on both sides of the drawn line, I sew a straight seam 1/4″ from the drawn line.  I am able to move the needle of my machine and when I align the edge of the presser foot against the drawn line, the needle will stitch out a seam 1/4″ from the drawn line.

P_20150807_232757[1]

However, I have problem keeping the presser foot align with the drawn line and as a result my seams are usually not straight.  Using the Fons and Porter 1/4″ seam marker, I mark the seam I am going to sew with a pencil.

P_20150807_205042[1]

P_20150807_205059[1]

Then I sew on the lines I draw.

P_20150807_233027[1]

I find that I am able to follow the drawn lines and this will give me straight seams.  I cut my squares slightly larger than what is necessary to make the HSTs.  e.g. I cut 2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″ squares which after sewing, cutting on the diagonal and trimming will result in two  2″ HSTs unfinished.  The finished HSTs (sewn into the block) measure 1 1/2″ x 1 1/2″.  Cutting larger squares is just in case the 1/4″ seam marked on the squares is not a scant 1/4″ and after cutting the squares apart on the diagonal result in HSTs that are slightly smaller than the required 2″ x 2″ (unfinished).

Anything to improve my piecing, I’m glad to have purchased the 1/4″ seam marker. 🙂

I am linking up with

New Blogger Series

2 thoughts on “1/4 inch seam marker by Fons and Porter

Leave a Reply

