Ebony and Ivory Quilt (Black and White Quilt) – Finished

I can happily say that I have another finish to my quilting projects.  The Ebony and Ivory quilt is done.  I must say I really love baptist fans.  They give the quilt an elegant look.

P_20151011_135345[1]

P_20151011_135125[1]

P_20151011_135146[1]

I quilted these baptist fans using the circle templates from Handiquilter.

wpid-p_20151012_213726.jpg

wpid-p_20151012_213829.jpg

It was a good learning experience as I learnt how to quilt with circular templates and a ruler base.

I had finished quilting the Ebony and Ivory quilt a while ago but I did not unload it from the quilting frame because I did not use up all the backing that was pinned to the leaders.  The backing that I used for the Ebony and Ivory quilt was about 3 metres long but the quilt itself was only 75 inches long (approximately 2 metres).  I wanted to use up the remaining 1 metre of backing before I unpinned the whole quilt from the frame.  I had a Stained Glass Peacock machine embroidery which was yet to be quilted.  I sewed on another border to the Stained Glass Peacock and the size fits nicely into the remaining length of backing.  So I loaded this onto the frame, making use of the remaining backing and quilted it.  More about the Stained Glass Peacock in another post.

Now back to the Ebony and Ivory quilt.  I quilted the outer borders with feathers, long-arm feathers.

P_20150928_222702[1]

I got this term from You can Quilt It by Deborah Poole.  I find this form of feathers rather forgiving and they look very pretty too.   To give it some oomph, I had added a red inner border to the quilt.  I wanted the binding to match this red inner border as well as the black outer borders so I thought of doing a red piping with a black binding. As usual, I turn to Google and Youtube for instructions on how to do this and viola, I discovered faux piping.

P_20151009_160345[1]

P_20151009_160314[1]

I love Google and Youtube!  There are so many things out there that we can learn.  Well I did the faux piping but instead of machine sewing the binding down after turning it over to the front of the quilt, I hand sewed the binding down as I did not like to see a  stitching line at the back of the quilt.

P_20151011_135208[1]

Ideally, if you stitched accurately, the stitching line at the back of the quilt should be just in between the binding and the backing of the quilt.  Well, let’s just say I am fussy.  Somehow I just do not like to see that stitching line even though I did try using invisible thread.  By the way, Jenny from Missouri Star Quilt Company just released a tutorial on how to sew this type of binding.  She called it Flange binding.

My husband’s niece will be home to attend a friend’s wedding.  She will carry this quilt back to London.  The quilt will keep her warm this winter. 🙂

Quilt stats:

Size:  60″ x 75″

Batting: 2 layers of Warm and Natural 80/20

Fabric:  From my stash except the red and black borders which were purchased from Sin Mui Heng specially for this quilt

Quilting designs:  Baptist fans with long-arm feathers in the outer borders and swirls in the inner border.

Quilt pattern:  from June 2015 issue of American Patchwork & Quilting

I am linking up with Main Crush Monday@Cooking Up Quilts

 Main Crush Monday

Also linking up with Sew Cute Tuesday at Blossom Quilts,

Sew Cute Tuesday

Linky Tuesday Freemotion by the River

Can I get a Whoop Whoop

3 thoughts on “Ebony and Ivory Quilt (Black and White Quilt) – Finished

  1. I would love to learn to quilt a baptist fan design. You Tube will help with this – you are right, I would be lost without Google and You Tube! 🙂 Your black and white quilt is really stunning and the red is a beautiful accent. Wonderful quilt! Thanks for linking up to Main Crush Monday. Have a great sewing week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

