Sewing is my therapy

I did not sew for 2 weeks and I felt miserable.  The reason was that I was busy studying for an examination.  I was sent to attend a 9-day course by my employer in September and all the participants of the course were expected to do a 3-hour examination after the course.  Some of the participants chose not to do the exams but most of us went through it, after all the course fees included the exams.  I have not studied so hard since my varsity days.  There were so many things to remember and we need to know how to apply the various rules and regulations in different scenarios.  Well it is OVER but I have to say it was tough.  We will only know the results in December.  As this is an accreditation examination, they need 2 months to mark the paper.

This past weekend I could finally sit down to sew again.  What a joy!  I realised long ago that sewing keeps me happy.  It is a form of therapy for me especially when I am feeling down.  Well, I did 2 projects, a pouch and a laptop case and I finished up a purse I started a couple of years back.  I had forgotten all about the purse so I was happy to dig it out and complete it.  I completed the purse and the pouch with a help of a teacher.  My colleagues attended a pouch sewing class a couple of weeks ago.  So I decided to attend the same class.  It was fun.  I have sewn a couple of simple bags before but am not very good at it.  The pouch was a challenge as there were curves to sew.

P_20151030_225318[1]

P_20151031_002730[1]

I borrowed my colleague’s pouch (red pouch) as a sample.

P_20151021_141828[1]

The teacher also helped me complete my purse.

P_20151031_002930[1]

Could not be happier than this.

On Saturday, my daughter reminded me that I have yet to sew a laptop sleeve for her new MacBook.  By Sunday night, the laptop sleeve was done.   Yay.  I used the tutorial from Design Sponge.

P_20151101_230046[1]

P_20151101_230117[1]

I added a zippered pocket at the side of the laptop case.  As usual, I turned to Youtube for help on the zippered pocket.  The video was done by Deby of So Sew Easy.  You may want to refer to her website for more tutorials and free patterns.

P_20151102_185451[1]

Do you find the colours of the laptop sleeve familiar?  Yes I used the scraps from the Ebony and Ivory quilt for this project.  I cut hexagons using one of templates, Template D, from Creative Grids Scrap Crazy 6 templates.   For the lining, I used my practice sandwiches.  This is really a recycling project.

I am linking up with Main Crush Monday @cookingup quilts

Grab button for Cooking Up Quilts

Sew Many Ways

Sew Many Ways

Sew Cute Blossom Heart Quilt

Sew Cute Tuesday

Linky Tuesday Freemotion by the River

2 thoughts on “Sewing is my therapy

Leave a Reply

