The Art of Lace Making – Tatting

I have been distracted from quilting!  To encourage personal enrichment, my employer allows the staff to claim for course/workshop fees on personal enrichment courses they attend, subject to a cap.  Personal enrichment courses include craft courses and music courses.  In the past, I used to sign up for quilting or sewing related courses.  This year, I decided to try something different.  I signed up for a tatting course.  The course was conducted by Ellen and was over 2 sessions.  After the first session, I told myself I will not go back for the second session.  Don’t get me wrong, there was nothing wrong with the instructor.  Ellen is a very patient teacher and she is very clear in her instructions.  It was me.  I felt impatient doing craft work with my hands.  I enjoy the speed of the sewing machine.  Ellen had to whatsapp me twice before I decided to go back to her for the second lesson.  But after the second lesson, I  began to feel differently towards tatting.  I started to enjoy it.  It is such a portable craft.  I could carry it with me anywhere and everywhere I go.

My first two pieces of tatting lace

P_20151017_210210[1]

The prym tatting shuttle that Ellen provided as part of the course tools.

P_20151017_210929[1]

After the second lesson, I decided to try tatting a cross using a beginner’s pattern that I found on the internet

P_20151125_215636[1]

P_20151125_222911[1]

I made a mistake at the beginning of the tatting of the cross which started at the bottom.  I had to ask Ellen for help and she recommended that I do rings before I tie off at the end.

I do not like the prym shuttle as I find that it is too small.  So during the Black Friday sale, I bought a few more tatting shuttles.

P_20151208_222434[1]

I love the wooden handmade ones.  They are beautiful.  I purchased them from Banyek at his Etsy store.  I decided to try my hands at another beginner’s pattern, Rambling Flower Bookmark.

P_20151208_222413[1]

Tatting complements quilting.  I realise that there are a number of tatters who quilt as well.

Christmas is just around the corner, I hope to tat a few simple pieces like snowflakes to decorate the house.  Will update with more tatting adventures.

I am linking up with Can I get a Whoop Whoop

Also linking up with The Linky Ladies

The Linky Ladies Party

2 thoughts on “The Art of Lace Making – Tatting

  1. Wow! Nice beginning to lace making and learning to tat….if that is the right term 🙂
    I first learned about tatting in college (40 years ago!) and bought the little tool and some instruction for my sister. She didn’t really follow through with it but enjoyed the idea 😉
    I’ll have to share this post with her and see if the inspiration sparks this time.

    Like

  2. Tatting is addictive. I was away on holiday just this past week and without my machines but I was able to tat. Tatting is really portable and therapeutic. Just like quilting. Thanks for dropping by my blog.
    Sandra

    Like

Leave a Reply

