April’s One Monthly Goal

Time flies.  It is April…    Beginning of April is always Qing Ming Festival  (清明节).  During this time, the Chinese are busy cleaning and sweeping graves and tombstones.  It is a time to remember our ancestors.  In land scarce Singapore, we don’t bury our loved ones after they have passed on but instead cremate their physical bodies and keep the ashes in urns which are kept in niches in columbariums.  The Chinese culture is one of the oldest and we have many traditions which we still keep to this day.  Some of these traditions contradict or seem to contradict with the teachings of Christianity.  One such tradition is the Chinese dragon dance.  The Chinese dragon is deeply rooted in Chinese culture.  It is a symbol of strength, prosperity for the Chinese but the Bible clearly states that dragons are evil creatures.

Putting aside the contradiction, I tatted a Chinese dragon. It is a free pattern by Anne Bruvold.  She has number of patterns which I have yet to try.

P_20160222_181618[1]

I am already very busy with sewing/quilting, with tatting added on, I am not sure if I can share my love equally between the two of them. LOL.

To show that I have not neglected sewing/quilting, I started on a bag.  This pattern is in a book by Moya’s Workshop.

P_20160402_202342[1]

I purchased the book about 2 years back but it was kept in cold storage until now.  Moon Bag is the one that caught my eye.

P_20160402_202442[1]

The templates for the patterns are found in a CD that came with the book.  I printed out the templates on 6 pieces of A3 size paper.  Joined the pieces together as the templates were big and therefore each one of the template was not able to fit exactly to one piece of A3 size paper.

P_20160402_202221[1]

I decided on the following fabric from my stash

P_20160402_201925[1]

Using the templates, I have cut out a few pieces of fabric

P_20160329_231829[1]

My goal for April is to sew up this bag so this shall be my OMG: One Monthly Goal for April.

I am linking up with OMG: One Monthly Goal

and Can I have a Whoop Whoop

 

 

5 thoughts on “April’s One Monthly Goal

  1. I love the dragon. 🙂
    I am writing a fantasy series at the moment which includes dragons, so thank you for the link to Annes dragon patterns on her blog. Hope I can tat one of her designs. :-).
    And I also love the bag pattern. Looking forward to see it completed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Moon Bag: April OMG Finish | The Bias Edge

Leave a Reply

