Moon Bag: April OMG Finish

When I listed the Moon Bag as my April One Monthly Goal at the beginning of April, I thought it was an easy peasy goal to accomplish.  I was wrong.  You see, I had not sewn many bags in the past and the bags that I had sewn were less elaborate.  This time I had to sew the bag following more elaborate instructions.  The instructions said to use heavyweight interfacing.  I was not sure what sort of interfacing is considered ‘heavyweight’.  So I used a stiff interfacing that is used for sewing collars of shirts.  Oh my, I regretted that.  Due to the stiffness, it was very difficult to manoeuvre the bag through the sewing machine especially when I had to sew curves.  However the great thing about the stiff interfacing is that it gave the bag a very nice structure.  I supposed if I had used a softer interfacing, the bag might end up more floppy.  Here is a pic of the finished bag

P_20160430_105211[1]

The bag unzipped, showing the inner zipper pocket.

P_20160430_105411[1]

Bag unzipped showing the other side where there is a inner lined pocket.

P_20160430_105345[1]

The pattern gave instructions for 1 outer zipper pocket.

P_20160430_105551[1]

But I decided to sew another outer zipper pocket on the other side of the bag.

P_20160430_105615[1]

Side view of the bag showing how the handle is attached.

P_20160430_105648[1]

 

 

View showing the bottom of the bag.

P_20160430_105753[1]

I would love to make another of this bag but this time I will definitely use a softer interfacing.

I am linking up with OMG at Red Letter Quilts and Can I get a Whoop Whoop at Confessions of a Fabric Addict

 

3 thoughts on “Moon Bag: April OMG Finish

  1. Pingback: April OMG Finish | The Bias Edge

Leave a Reply

