Lucky Winner, June’s OMG

I received Lara Bucella’s book,  Crafted Applique, on Friday.  Wow that was fast.  Thanks Lara for sending it by airmail.  I won the book when I left a comment on Christina Cameli’s blog , A Few Scraps.  I like Lara’s style of writing.  Very easy to read and understand.  Most importantly she introduces a different approach to doing applique.  I have not done much applique because I often associate it with hand sewing which I have no patience for.  Don’t get me wrong, I still hand sew binding when I finish up a quilt and I enjoy that part of hand sewing because that completes the quilt.  Lara’s method seems to make sewing applique easier and faster.  I will have to try it soon. LOL.

Since I am on the topic of winning, I would like to add that a few months ago, at a giveaway at ShopMartingale, I won Windy City Bags by Sarah Lawson.

These are fantastic books with fantastic projects.  I just need to find time to sew these projects.  So many projects, so little time. LOL

School is out for the month of June.  There was an exhibition at the institution that I am teaching in.  I took my younger children there to view the exhibits.  See the youngest boy playing with one of the exhibits.

P_20160518_191755[1]

P_20160518_191840[1]

If you look closely at the pay phone, can you tell what it is made of?  To give you more clues, let me show you some more pictures.

P_20160518_191921[1]

P_20160518_192027[1]

P_20160518_192135[1]

By now you should already have guessed it, all the items are built with Lego blocks.  The one that intrigue me most was this

P_20160518_191650[1]

A Singer treadle machine!  They even have a pair of scissor (right-hand corner), chalks and a pair of spectacles (pic below)

P_20160518_191514[1]

I wish I could take the Singer machine home!

I managed to sew May’s Aurifil block of the month.  Looking forward to see all the 12 blocks together and by then I will have another quilt!

Aufil May 2016 block

As June is the month of school holidays, I will go slow on my sewing so as to spend more time with my children.  While piecing my Hearts Intertwined quilt top for May, I made many extra V blocks, Square in squares.  So, my June OMG will be to sew up these orphaned units together to piece a Storm at Sea table topper/runner.  This year, I only want to create Finished Projects and not WIPs.   I really want to thank Heidi from Red Letter Quilts for organising OMG 2016, it really forces me to get my sewing/quilting projects completed rather than remain as WIPs.  As the saying goes, better finish than perfect.

Storm at sea block2

I am linking up with OMG at Red Letter QuiltsAurifil Block of the month at Pat Sloan’s, Can I get a Whoop Whoop at Confessions of a Fabric Addict

 

One thought on “Lucky Winner, June’s OMG

  1. Those Lego creations are very cool! I happened to have just watched a really interesting Lego documentary found at my local library. Now I want to be a Lego Designer when I grow up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

