July’s OMG Finish and a finish for Q3 FAL

I finally decided on a pattern for the first baby quilt.  It is from the book ’29 Scrappy Quilts’ by Better Homes and Gardens.  After cutting up my fabric, I kind of regretted my decision and the reason was the blocks for that quilt were small, they finish at 4 x 4 inches.  To piece up the blocks I had to cut 1 1/2x 1 1/2 inches squares.  But what was I to do as I had cut up the fabric.  So I pressed ahead and sewed up the quilt top.  I am not good with sewing a consistent 1/4 inch seam so sewing a small square to another small square poses a problem.  I had to sew slowly and used a stiletto.  Still some of the seams were not ‘ideal’.  Anyway, here is my finished quilt top.

SawTooth Star baby quilt-PH

I have to say I am rather pleased with it as the colours are so sweet and apt for a baby girl.

I have also finished quilting and binding The Rugged Cross.  This is my 1st finish for Q3 FAL.

The Rugged Cross.jpg

However, I am having difficulty with the Cambodian quilt cos the girls there have overlocked the seams (see pic below) and that makes them very bulky.

Cambodian quilt centre.jpg

I am now in the process of unpicking these seams.  I forsee difficulty in sewing them back together later cos the pieces of fabric were not cut accurately and their sizes differ.

Linking up with Red Letter Quilts’ OMG and Can I get a Whoop Whoop at Confessions of a Fabric Addict

Update:  I am linking up with 2016 Finish A-Long, Q3 Finishes.  Also linking up with my FAL Q3 Goals

5 thoughts on “July’s OMG Finish and a finish for Q3 FAL

  1. Yea for finishing your quilt. I’m working on a quilt now that has smaller pieces (not as small as yours!) I liked the design and didn’t think about how many blocks I would have to make. They went together pretty fast but now I’m sewing them together on point. Congratulations for sticking to the project.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

