August OMG and Aurifil Block for July

Aurifil July’s Block of the month is designed by Wendy Sheppard.  She is one of my favourite designer and free motion quilter.  I completed the block and here it is:

July Aurifil Block

All the 7 Aurifil blocks together look like this:

7 Aurifil blocks together

When I saw the post by Heidi of Red Letter Quilts about a tutorial by From My Carolina Home on how to make a sewing kit, I was inspired.  I have yet to prepare Christmas gifts and Christmas is just a few months away.  Drawing string bags are versatile and so suitable as gifts especially to the womenfolk.

My August quilty goal is to sew up at least one draw string bag.  There are so many patterns to sew from.  Beside the pattern from From My Carolina Home, I like the patterns from In Colour Order   I hope to be able to sew more than one so as to get gifts ready for Christmas.

I am linking up with OMG at Red Letter Quilts, Can I get a Whoop Whoop and Aurifil Designer of the month.

3 thoughts on “August OMG and Aurifil Block for July

  1. I love your goal idea and kind of wish I had selected the same! I wanted to make the sewing kit last month, but I do not have the plastic round thingy and did not think of a good alternative. I look forward to seeing what you decide to go with!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Heidi. I actually have the same problem as you. I do not have the plastic round thingy too and not exactly sure where to get it. So I am likely to replace it with a paper cardboard. This means that I will not be able to wash the bag after it is sewn.

      Like

Leave a Reply

