Blogger’s Quilt Festival – New York Beauty Wall Hanging

When I submitted my first entry to the Large Quilt Category of the Blogger’s Quilt Festival, I thought that would be my only entry this year.  But when I read that Amy  is extending the deadline for entry to the Blogger’s Quilt Festival, I decided to enter another of my quilt to the Small Quilt Category.  This wall hanging was completed a few years back when I was at a very low point in my life.  I used sewing and quilting to keep me sane and it helped me pulled myself out of the pits.  Till this day it is still my favourite.  It is a combination of machine embroidery and quilting.  The machine embroidery pattern was purchased from Laura’s Sewing Studio.  She did a great job digitizing the New York Beauty.  Using the New York Beauty blocks, I sewed them into flowers.  I also embellished the quilt with free-standing butterflies and buttons

p_20160923_2030111

P_20160923_203145[1].jpg

The quilt measures approximately 40 x 25 inches.  See the full quilt hanging on the wall.

P_20160923_202833[1].jpg

I bound the quilt using prairie points.

P_20160923_203110[1].jpg

Do pop by Amyscreativeside to view all the other beautiful creations by talented quilters.

 

4 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival – New York Beauty Wall Hanging

  1. Beautiful, every part, the fabrics, the way you assembled it, the stitching and the quilting, and then the borders. Fabulous. There are so many entries, I am trying to visit every one, and decide on my viewers choice of favourite three!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

