Bags as Birthday gifts and a bag for myself

I managed to sew 2 bags as birthday presents for my sister-in-law.  The gathered zipper bag is also my goal for December OMG.  So glad I managed to finish them.  To say the truth, I am rather pleased with the 2 bags.  I hope the recipient will like them as much as I do.

The Japanese Knot Bag or Grab Bag.

IMG_20161213_074332[1].jpg

I followed the tutorial from AllPeople Quilt.  I will definitely make more.  This bag is so cute.

The Gathered Zipper Pouch.

IMG_20161213_074404[1].jpg

I followed the tutorial here.  I will use fabric of a different colour the next time I sew this bag.

When I pattern tested for Jantine at UrbanStyleJantine, I sewed a tote for myself by modifying her pattern and using a tutorial by So Sew Easy .  The pictures below show the 2 sides of the tote.

img_20161204_1810581

img_20161204_1810341

This bag was made from a quilt sandwich that I practised long arm quilting on.  I had planned to trash this quilt sandwich.  So glad I did not throw it away.  See the transformation.  LOL.

The yellow/purple rose on the tote bag was made with Quick point Scallop ruler.  This ruler has a variety of uses.  I had used this ruler to add scallops to the edge of the Baby Citrus quilt.   Nothing like a ruler with multiple uses.  🙂  Let’s take a look at the recessed zipper on the bag.  I think the gusset for the zipper should be longer for better coverage of the bag opening.  Well next time…

img_20161204_1528282

I am linking up with Bag It at Elm Street Quilts and Let’s Bee Social.

 

8 thoughts on “Bags as Birthday gifts and a bag for myself

Leave a Reply

