March OMG Finish

Where has time gone?  I cannot believe that today is the last day of March!  Let’s take stock of my quilty progress.  I set out to piece the Mystery Quilt by Cheryl of Meadow Mist for March.  I completed the piecing fairly early in the month but I could not decide on the borders.  Let’s see the quilt top.

IMG_20170221_074327[1]

All the fabric used in the above quilt top came from my stash.   Then I decided to ‘enlarge’ the quilt top.  To my dismay I realised I ran out of the green, red and dark blue fabric.  I had no choice but to go shopping (fantastic excuse to buy more fabric. LOL) at my favourite store, Sing Mui Heng (SMH).  I remembered I bought the green fabric from SMH not too long ago.  To my horror, they ran out of that particular shade of green.  They also ran out of the dark blue fabric!  My mind was working furiously on other possible colour combinations when I spied green in a corner of the shop where ends of bolts of fabric were packaged neatly in plastic bags.  That was my green fabric!  With my spoils (I also purchased solid red similar to the one I used in the centre of the quilt top) I went home to add a pieced border to the quilt top.  Tada..

IMG_20170329_073348[1]

It was not my intention to make this into a Christmas quilt but it definitely looks like a Christmas quilt now.  The size is currently 72″ x 72″ which is still small as I am looking to make a queen size/king size quilt.  Who knows?  I may add more borders…

 

I am linking up with Elm Street Quilt OMG-March Finish Linkup and Let’s Bee Social at Sew Fresh Quilts

5 thoughts on “March OMG Finish

Leave a Reply

