Another project completed for Q2 2017 Finish-A-long

I missed setting a goal for May OMG.  I was so busy organising an event for my school that I completely forgot about it.  However I managed to complete another project for 2017 Finish-A-long , the Patchwork Tote Bag.    This is Goal #4, my 4th finish for Q2 2017 FAL.  This project is made with all my scraps.  The lining is from a batik fabric that I had wanted to trash.  The colours bled so badly that I felt that I could not use the fabric in any projects. Now it is put to good use.  I feel so pleased with myself.

You can get the tutorial for the bag from quiltingboard here.  The construction of the bag is the same as the Schlep bag.  If you google schlep bag, you will see that the bag looks different when you use different size blocks with different fabric.

IMG_20170520_080718[1]

Look carefully at the bag and you will realise that mine looks different from the tutorial and the schlep bag.  I changed it up cos I wanted a bag with zipper.  With the zipper on, I had to sew the handles differently from that shown in the tutorial.  I made the handles using a tutorial by Sewcanshe.

Let’s take a look from the side.

IMG_20170520_080640[1].jpg

Once the bag was completed, I change out my bag immediately.  No fear.  It was easy to transfer items from my Moon Bag to this bag cos I use the Handy Purse Organiser.

See the Handy Purse Organiser in the bag.

IMG_20170520_080525[1]

You can see my Q2 FAL goals here.  I am linking up with Let’s Bee Social and Mid Week Makers

4 thoughts on “Another project completed for Q2 2017 Finish-A-long

Leave a Reply

