2016 Aurifil Block of the Month Quilt

I must be losing my grey matter.  I forgot to set my OMG goal for June.  This is the second time I forgot to set my OMG goal.  The good thing about not setting monthly goals is that I do not feel pressured to complete a project within the month.  The bad thing is that I lose focus and  started on a few projects at one go.  I took a Craftsy class by Sarah Fielke “Big Techniques Small Scraps” where she taught needle-turn applique and a few other techniques.  The needle-turn applique project from her class was a fun applique wall hanging.  I have dabbled in needle-turn applique in the past but did not enjoy it because I found it tedious and difficult.  Sarah’s technique of applique is simpler than those I have seen before so I decided to give needle-turn applique another go.  This is the work in progress (see pic below).  I may change out the fabric of the centre flower.  Still deciding…

IMG_20170701_235044_HDR[1]

I learnt quite a few techniques and I enjoyed the class.

IMG_20170701_235636[1].jpg

This book came in the mail a few weeks ago.  Saw a Sunbonnet Sue coin pouch inside the book.  So irresistible… and so timely.  The book came after I had taken Sarah’s class.  I can make use of the applique technique that I have just learnt in her class for this pouch! And the resulting work in progress is as follows:

IMG_20170701_235142[1].jpg

Two applique projects at one go.   Then I chanced upon an Annie’s Class on Bavarian crochet.  Now I have not crocheted for more than 30 years.  The introduction to the class is soooo… tempting.  What am I to do but to purchase the online class.  The very next day I visited Spotlight Singapore and what a coincidence (or is it?) that Spotlight was having a 40% off for all yarns.  As happy as a lark, I bought myself a few balls of wool and a crochet needle.  My scarf in progress …

IMG_20170626_153057_HDR[1].jpg

The 2016 Aurifil Block of the Month quilt is bound and washed.  When I was sewing up the blocks, I used my scraps of blues that I had at that time.  The quilting took much longer than my previous quilts.  I wanted to try denser quilting and I wanted a ‘bluer’ quilt so I used blue Signature cotton quilting thread.  Well the blue thread did make the quilt look bluer but it also ‘highlight’ my oops.  However, my children think it looks great. They were not able to spot my mistakes.  LOL.  I am just glad that the quilt is completed. This quilt is going to my husband’s niece in Australia.  This is my 5th finish for Q2 of 2017 Finish A-long and it is Goal #9,  See my goals for Q2 FAL here.

IMG_20170616_154057[1]

A closer look of the front

IMG_20170616_154050[1]

Let’s take a look at the back of the quilt.

IMG_20170616_154154[1]

I am linking up with Q2 FAL, Sewcanshe and Can i have a Whoop Whoop.

 

5 thoughts on “2016 Aurifil Block of the Month Quilt

  1. The quilt looks lovely, and if your husband’s niece is living on the east coast of Australia, then she will appreciate the quilt, as it is very cold here now. 🙂
    And the Bavarian crochet is interesting. I watched a video, and the only difference is to join into the back of the previous treble, not the front like I do. Fun, and looks lovely with the colour changes.
    I am off to sit in front of the fire, and crochet myself a scarf out of left over wool.
    All your projects are wonderful. :-).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your 2016 Aurifil quilt is fabulous. Your quilting is amazing. It is amazing how we are our own worst critics. While working really close to the surface to do the quilting we see every little bobble or wiggle. But from a normal distance those little things just don’t show all that much. Fabulous finish.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your quilt is so beautiful! The quilting is precious – especially like how gorgeous it is on the back! Such talent! I also crochet and enjoyed learning about your new project! Thank you for sharing so many beautiful projects!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

